Rostros_Rápidos_005 (Medium).jpg

Carina Povarchik

(signs her works as Catru)

About me

I live in Argentina, in a small town San Rafael. I have free birds on my backyard. I sign all my artworks as Catru, short, easy with some history behind. I love to create, and I'm always making something. I work as a Children's Illustrator and artist together with teaching about computers lessons.

Overall Experience and Studies

I graduated from a Master in Computers at University.
I’ve been teaching about computers since that.
Especially learning how to make programs.

Back in 2013, I joined as a student for 2 years the local college of Visual Arts. And I took drawing portraiture lessons for 3 years with a local artist. Now, I also teach when it comes, art lessons to kids.

I’ve illustrated 3 picture books, 2 already published and one coming Summer 2019.

Interesting facts
Spanish is my native language.
I’d been to India, twice.
I love cats, yet I’m allergic to them
I love having free birds coming to eat seeds to my backyard.
I had my ears fixed with surgery when I was 10 years old, by my own choice.
I’ve never broke a bone of my body.
I laugh out loud and talk, when I sleep, often enough.
I love chocolate… oh, that’s not interesting... but IT IS a fact.

When being a little girl, I lived with my 3 cousins for a while. When I was born, the first name my parents wanted to call me was Catruska, and they weren’t allowed by law at the time. My cousins started calling me Catru. Years went by, and it simply stuck with me. Short, easy and fun.
— Carina
 
My town, San Rafael (Mendoza, Argentina)

My town, San Rafael (Mendoza, Argentina)